Minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Canadian Rockies School Division held on Wednesday, February 26, 2025 at 7:00 p.m at the Central Board Office in Canmore. The meeting was held in a hybrid format. Participants were invited to attend face-to-face or via google meet. The meeting was recorded and the recording is posted on the division website.

Trustees Present:

B. Callaghan Chair, A. Rheaume Vice Chair, C. Picard, D. Craig, L. Sunderland

Administration and Staff:

- C. MacPhee, Superintendent
- D. McKibbin, Deputy Superintendent
- S. Greene, Assistant Superintendent of Learning, Technology and Facilities
- K. Gregovic, Secretary/Associate Superintendent
- C. Jensen, Treasurer/Associate Superintendent
- M. Shoemaker, Director of Learning Services
- N. Dack Doi, Indigenous Services Coordinator
- N. Miles, Principal, BCHS
- K. Proudfoot, Principal, LGMS
- B. Wityshyn, Principal, ERS
- J. Billings, Principal, BES
- C. Kestle, Principal, Exshaw
- A Preece, Principal, CCHS/Alpenglow
- J. Keon, Assistant Principal, CCHS/Alpenglow
- H. Holthuis, District Principal
- D. Larson, Instructional Lead Teacher
- J. Bowes, Executive Assistant

1. Land Acknowledgement

2. Call to Order

The Chair called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. with all trustees present and called for any additions, deletions or changes to the agenda.

3. Approval of Agenda

Agenda 973-2025 Motion:

Motion: A. Rheaume

That the agenda be approved with the addition of 6.2.3 Draft Four Year Education Plan Update

Carried

4. Approval of Minutes

4.1 Regular Board Meeting January 21, 2025

Recorder

Reg Mtg Minutes

974-2025

Motion: D. Craig

That the minutes of the January 21, 2025 Regular Meeting be approved as presented.

Carried

5. Delegations/Presentations - Spotlight on Learning - Hans Holthuis, District Principal

6. Superintendent Report

6.1 Directives for Action

6.1.1 Joint Elections Agreement - MD of Bighorn

Joint Election Agreement 975-2025

Motion: D. Craig

That the Board of Trustees approves the formation of a joint election agreement with the MD of Bighorn.

Carried

6.1.2 Returning Officer and Substitute Returning Officer

Rtn Officer and Sub Rtn Officer 976-2025

Motion: A. Rheaume

That the Board approve the appointment of Secretary/Associate Superintendent Konstantin Gregovic as Returning Officer and to appoint Treasurer/Associate Superintendent Cheryl Jensen as Substitute Returning Officer for the 2025 School Board Election being held on October 20, 2025.

Carried

6.2 Information Items

- **6.2.1** Administrative Procedure Update
- **6.2.2** Operational Report
- **6.2.3** Draft Four Year Education Plan Update

7. Trustee Reports

- 7.3.1 B. Callaghan, Chair
 - Board Retreat SARR Presentations
 - Committee of the Whole
 - Special Meetings
 - Negotiations
 - OLC Tour
 - King Charles III Coronation Medal Presentation
 - 2024 Education Law Year in Review virtual session
- **7.3.2** A. Rheaume, Vice-Chair
 - Board Retreat SARR Presentations
 - Committee of the Whole

- Avalon Site Tour
- Special Meetings
- King Charles III Coronation Medal Presentation

7.3.3 C. Picard

- King Charles III Coronation Medal Presentation
- ASBA Virtual Webinar
- Committee of the Whole
- Zone 5 Meeting
- Board Retreat SARR Presentations
- ERS Council Meeting
- Special Meetings
- 2024 Education Law Year in Review virtual session

7.3.4 L. Sunderland

- Committee of the Whole
- Board Retreat SARR Presentations
- King Charles III Coronation Medal Presentation
- Special Meetings

7.3.5 D. Craig

- Committee of the Whole
- Board Retreat SARR Presentations
- Avalon Site Tour
- Special Meetings
- King Charles III Coronation Medal Presentation

8. Questions (see Policy 7, Section 11(a))

No questions brought forward at this time

9. Chair's Remarks/Correspondence

No Correspondence at this time

10. In Camera

In Camera 977-2025 Motion: B. Callaghan

That the Board go in camera at 8:32 p.m.

Carried

Out of Camera 978-2025 Motion: B. Callaghan

Adjourn

That the Board come out of camera at 9:12 p.m.

Carried

11: Adjournment

979-2025 Motion: B. Callaghan

That the meeting adjourn at 9:12 p.m.

Carried

Brian Callaghan, Chair Board of Trustees

Kullaghan

Canadian Rockies Public Schools

Cheryl Jensen, Treasurer/Associate Superintendent Canadian Rockies Public Schools