Minutes of the Organizational Meeting of the Board of Trustees of The Canadian Rockies School Division held on Tuesday, August 29, 2023 at 6:30 p.m at Central Board Office in Canmore

The meeting was held in a hybrid format. Participants were invited to attend face-to-face or via google meet. The meeting was recorded and the recording is posted on the division website.

Trustees Present:

Arlene Rheaume, Brian Callaghan, Carol Picard, Luke Sunderland, Dale Craig,

Administration Present:

- C. MacPhee, Superintendent
- D. McKibbin, Deputy Superintendent
- S. Greene, Assistant Superintendent of Learning, Technologies & Facilities
- C. Jensen, Treasurer / Associate Superintendent
- K. Gregovic, Secretary / Associate Superintendent
- E. Lewis, Transportation Manager
- A Spanier, Communication Consultant
- J. Bowes, Executive Assistant

Recorder

1. Land Acknowledgment

2. Call to Order

The Treasurer/Associate Superintendent called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

3. Election of Chair and Vice-Chair

3.1. The Secretary/Associate Superintendent called for nominations for the position of Chair of the Board of Trustees.

Trustee C. Picard nominated Trustee A. Rheaume for the position of Chair. After a second and third call, there were no further nominations.

Cease Chair Nominations

814-2024

Motion: C. Picard

Motion to cease nominations for the position of Board of Trustees Chair.

Carried

Trustee A. Rheaume accepted the position of Chair of the 2023-2024 Board of Trustees for Canadian Rockies Public Schools.

3.2. The Chair called for nominations for the position of Vice Chair of the Board.

Trustee D. Craig nominated Trustee B. Callaghan for the position of Vice Chair. After a second and third call, there were no further nominations.

Cease Vice Chair Nominations 815-2024

Motion: D. Craig

Motion to cease nominations for the position of Board of Trustees Vice Chair

Carried

Trustee B. Callaghan accepted the position of Vice Chair of the 2023-2024 Board of Trustees for Canadian Rockies Public Schools.

4. Committee Representatives

4.1. ASBA Zone 5 Representative

C. Picard will be the ASBA Zone 5 Representative. Alternate on an 'as needed' basis.

4.2. PSBAA Representative and Alternate

B. Callaghan will be the representative for PSBAA; L. Sunderland accepted as the alternate.

4.3. Local Bargaining Committee

B. Callaghan will be the representative to sit on the Local Bargaining Committee.

4.4. TEBA (Teachers Employer Bargaining Association)

B. Callaghan will be the representative to sit on the Teachers Employer Bargaining Association Committee. Along with Deputy Superintendent McKibbin, Treasurer/Associate Superintendent C. Jensen and/or Secretary/Associate Superintendent K. Gregovic will also sit on the Committee

4.5. TBAC (Teacher Board Advisory Committee)

A Rheaume will be the representative to sit on the Teacher Board Advisory Committee.

4.6. Audit Committee

Entire Board will sit on the Audit Committee.

4.7. Policy Review

D. Craig will be the representative to sit on the Policy Review Committee.

4.8. Transportation Committee

Trustees D. Craig and A. Rheaume will sit on the transportation committee along with representation from senior administration.

Motion: B. Callaghan

That the Board ratify the Committee appointments as indicated.

Carried

Committee Ratification 816-2024

Adjourn

817-2024

Motion: A. Rheaume

That the meeting adjourn at 6:40 p.m.

Carried

Arlene Rheaume, Chair

C. Jensen, Treasurer/Associate Superintendent