Minutes of the Organizational Meeting of the Board of Trustees of The Canadian Rockies School Division held on October 20, 2021 at 6:30 p.m.

(This meeting will be a virtual meeting, recorded and closed for in-person public attendance to help prevent the community spread of the COVID-19 virus. Due to COVID restrictions, a small group (trustees, senior admin and principals) attended the meeting in-person at BES)

Trustees Present:

Carol Picard, Arlene Rheaume, Luke Sunderland, Dale Craig, Brian Callaghan

Administration Present:

- C. MacPhee, Superintendent
- D. McKibbin, Deputy Superintendent
- V. Parsons-Pack, Human Resource Manager
- M. Guindon, Secretary-Treasurer
- L. Blackstock, Director of Learning Services
- S. Greene, Director of Technology, Learning and Facilities
- C. Rogers, Principal, CCHS, BCHS and Alpenglow
- N. Miles, Principal, LGMS
- N. Trottier, Principal, BES
- N. Skwara, Assistant Principal, ERS
- N. Dack-Doi, Principal, Exshaw
- C. Mueller, Transportation Manager
- J. Bowes, Executive Assistant

Recorder

1. Call to Order

The Superintendent called the meeting to order at 6:33 p.m.

2. Election of Chair and Vice-Chair

The Superintendent called for nominations for the position of Chair of the Board.

Trustee C Picard nominated Trustee A Rheaume for the position of Chair. After a second and third call, there were no further nominations.

Trustee A Rheaume accepted the position of Chair.

The Chair called for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair.

Trustee A Rheaume nominated Trustee B Callaghan for the position of Vice-Chair. After a second and third call, there were no further nominations.

3. Committee Representatives

3.1 ASBA Zone 5 Representative

C Picard offered to be the ASBA Zone 5 Representative

3.2 PSBAA Representative and Alternate

B Callaghan offered to be the representative for PSBAA;

D Craig accepted as the alternate

3.3 Local Bargaining Committee

C Picard offered to sit on the Locally Bargaining Committee;

A Rheaume accepted as the alternate with B Callaghan willing to step in as well if needed

3.4 TEBA (Teachers Employer Bargaining Association)

B Callaghan offered to sit on the Teachers Employer Bargaining Association Committee

3.5 TBAC (Teacher Board Advisory Committee)

C Picard offered to sit on the Teacher Board Advisory Committee

3.6 Audit Committee

Entire Board will sit on the Audit Committee. Also Section 142 Sub-section 2 of *The Education Act* states that two members of the public now need to also be included on the Committee. The public representatives will be determined at a later date.

3.7 Policy Review

A Rheaume offered to sit on the Policy Review Committee

3.8 Rural Caucus Representative

The Board made the decision to step away from this committee

3.9 Board Highlights

D Craig agreed to compile the Highlights from each Public School Board meeting.

Committee Ratification 620-2022 Motion: B Callaghan

That the Board ratify the Committee appointments as indicated.

Carried

Adjourn 621-2022

Motion: L Sunderland

That the meeting adjourn at 6:48 p.m.

Carried

Arlene Rheaume, Chair

Mike Guindon, Secretary-Treasurer