Minutes of the Organizational Meeting of the Board of Trustees of The Canadian Rockies School Division held on September 23, 2020 at 6:30 p.m.

(This meeting will be a virtual meeting, recorded and closed for in-person public attendance to help prevent the community spread of the COVID-19 virus)

Trustees Present:

Carol Picard, Arlene Rheaume, Jen Smith, Luke Sunderland, Scott Rowed

Administration Present:

- C. MacPhee, Superintendent
- D. McKibbin, Deputy Superintendent
- V. Parsons-Pack, Human Resource Manager
- M. Guindon, Secretary-Treasurer
- K. Gregovic Controller/Assistant Secretary Treasurer
- L. Blackstock, Director of Learning Services
- S. Greene, Director of Technology, Learning and Facilities
- J. Bowes, Executive Assistant

1. Call to Order

The Secretary Treasurer called the meeting to order at 6:37 p.m.

2. Election of Chair and Vice-Chair

The Secretary Treasurer called for nominations for the position of Chair of the Board.

Trustee J. Smith nominated Trustee C. Picard for the position of Chair. After a second and third call, there were no further nominations.

Nominations 502-2021

Recorder

Motion: J. Smith

That nominations for the position of Chair cease.

Carried

Trustee C. Picard accepted the position of Chair.

The Chair called for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair.

Trustee J. Smith nominated Trustee A. Rheaume for the position of Vice-Chair. After a second and third call, there were no further nominations.

Nominations 503-2021

Motion: S. Rowed

That nominations for the position of Vice-Chair cease.

Carried

Trustee A. Rheaume accepted the position of Vice-Chair.

3. Committee Representatives

- 3.1 ASBA Zone 5 Representative
 - A. Rheaume agreed to continue in this role
- 3.2 PSBAA Representative and Alternate
 - J. Smith accepted to be the representative for PSBAA;
 - S. Rowed accepted as the alternate
- 3.3 Local Bargaining Committee
 - J. Smith accepted to sit on the Locally Bargaining Committee; C. Picard accepted as the alternate
- 3.4 Audit Committee

Entire Board will sit on this Committee. Also Section 142 Sub-section 2 of *The Education Act* states that two members of the public now need to also be included on the Committee. The public representatives will be determined at a later date.

3.5 Policy Review

Arlene Rheaume accepted to sit on the Policy Review Committee

- 3.6 Rural Caucus Representative
 - S. Rowed accepted to be the representative for the Rural Caucus Committee
- 3.7 Board Highlights

A. Rheaume agreed to compile the Highlights from each Public School Board meeting.

- 3.8 TEBA Committee
 - J. Smith agreed to sit on the TEBA committee

Adjourn 504-2021 Motion: A. Rheaume

That the Board ratify the Committee appointments as indicated.

Carried

Adjourn 505-2021 Motion: J. Smith

barol Picard

That the meeting adjourn at 6:49 p.m.

Carried

Mall

Chair Secretary-Treasurer